While I do love the occasional cup of coffee, I have found that drinking tea can greatly benefit your health. Tea is packed full with antioxidants and phytochemicals, which is why it has such a long list of benefits. It has been used for centuries as a form of alternative medicine for ailments ranging from a stomachache to Alzheimer’s. So take your pick…. 

    There are four key types of teas, green, black, white, and oolong. Try them all or a combination that fits you. For instance, yerba mate and white teas can aid in weight loss, while green tea has been shown to be effective in fighting cancer. Go beyond the key four teas and try some tea with ginger, which has anti-inflammatory effects. Also, mix your tea with some lemon. I have been a proponent of drinking warm lemon water in the morning for it’s detoxification effects on the body, so trying mixing in some tea once in a while. 

    Guayusa tea- I recently discovered this tea and it is a great alternative to some of the classics. Guayusa is a tree leaf from the Amazon and has been used by its natives for thousands of years. It has properties similar to those of green tea and is also filled with antioxidants. It does contain caffeine, which provides energy, but it has a more subtle effect minus the jitters. Think of it as coffee of the Amazon! 

Morning Practice: Do you practice yoga in the morning? Try drinking warm tea with lemon before you practice and before you eat breakfast. Your body will wake up with more ease and will be ready for the day.


Green Super Powder Smoothie

Green Super Powder Smoothie

This smoothie is packed with antioxidants, protein, fiber, vitamins, and ENERGY! There are four basic components to making a “green” smoothie.

You start with a base…


-filtered water

-coconut milk

-almond milk

-rice milk

Add your greens…




Add fruit…






Add the Super Powders:


-protein powder

-chia seeds






Blend and drink!

You can play around with different ingredients to find the best fit for you!

Here is a smoothie that I blended…

Base: 1.5 cups Coconut Milk 


Greens: 1 handful of Spinach
Fruit: 1 Apple
Super Powders: 1 scoop Phood (plant based protein); 1 teaspoon Spirulina; 1 scoop Green Vibrance (organic greens/ freeze dried grass juices); 1 teaspoon chia seeds; 1 life shot (optional for taste/ additional vitamins/minerals)

The ingredients…
Here it is…

Feel free to add additional organic fruits, stevia, or agave to sweeten 


Blog: Beyond the Mat / Eight Limbs

Eight Limbs of Yoga 

 If you go to a yoga class, you may hear about the “eight limbs” or eightfold path of yoga. This comes from Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Centuries ago, Patanjali was a great sage who compiled this essential guide/ foundational text of yoga principles. Within the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali describes this eightfold path for moral and ethical conduct towards oneself and others. 

    Yoga is more than just a physical practice “Asana”, which is only one of the eight limbs. By practicing yoga, you slowly become aware of how to take care of your body/ mind and how you treat those around you. The Yoga Sutras were originally written in Sanskrit and there are many translations, but if you look at the core principles, they are actually very practical.

    Take a few minutes each day to sit and meditate with each of these limbs. And remember, when reading about the limbs, especially the yamas and the niyamas, keep an open mind and don’t take the concepts so literally. Try to interpret the limbs and apply them to your life. It’s about being disciplined in how you treat yourself and those around you. The power and capacity within each individual can seem to be beyond comprehension. Therefore, the Yoga Sutras are a wonderful guide in moving towards that potential.


1. Yamas– how we behave in life and towards those around us 

Ahimsa– nonviolence; being kind to all beings 

Satya– truthfulness; “speaking your truth” (while still keeping in mind Ahimsa) 

Asteya– nonstealing; not just the act of not stealing but the mental intentions/desires that we cultivate in our minds 

Brahmacharya– continence “don’t take this too literally” 🙂

Aparigraha– non-hoarding; non-greediness; to own only what is necessary 

2. Niyamas– self-discipline 

Saucha– cleanliness; taking care and purifying your body 

Samtosha– contentment; being content with things in the present moment 

Tapas– heat “physical practice”; cleansing the body and mind through practice/ exercise

Svadhyaya– self study “examining yourself and the world”; journaling/reading

Isvarapranidhana– surrender to the universe, God, whom or whatever you believe in…or surrendering yourself to life if you choose…it’s really about simply letting go 

3. Asana– disciplined physical practice “your body is a temple” 

4. Pranayama– breath control; pranayama translates to “life force extension”; learning proper breathing rejuvenates your body and enhances your life 

5. Pratyahara– withdrawing of the senses; moving towards meditation, we begin to transfer our awareness from the outside world to our internal self

6. Dharana– concentration on a single point; now moving away from the internal distractions of the mind 

7. Dhyana– meditation; ultimate state of awareness without focus; state of stillness and contemplation (all of the previous limbs prepare for this state of meditation) 

8. Samadhi– bliss; transcendence of the self; becoming one with the universe/ divine/ however you define it 


~ Again take time to look into these limbs and determine how you can apply them to your life. While yoga can be a spiritual practice for some, it is not a religion. Yoga is a way of living and acting. You can define it for yourself. That is the beauty of the practice. ~